Want To Block Someone On Tumblr- A Complete Guide Just For You

Tumblr is an excellent blogging and social networking website. This platform lets you express yourself, discover, and bond over the topics you have an interest in. It also lets you connect with various people around the world with similar interests as yours. 

However, every once in a while you might come across a person with whom you don’t want to interact anymore. You would like to prevent them from communicating with you. Well… Tumblr allows you to block users so that they don’t interact with you anymore.

This article will walk you through various steps to block someone on Tumblr, all you have to do is just follow them.

What happens when you block someone on Tumblr?

Before heading towards how to block someone on Tumblr, you might want to know what will happen once you have blocked someone on Tumblr.

Blocking someone on Tumblr only blocks them from a specific blog on your account, not all of them. If you wish to block someone from all of your blogs, then you will have to add them to each block list.

When you block some on Tumblr then the following things happen:

  1. Once you block someone on Tumblr, then that won’t be able to follow your blog anymore.
  2. The blocked user won’t be able to message you on your Tumblr account.
  3. They won’t be able to send requests to your Tumblr account.
  4. The blocked user won’t be able to see your posts in their dashboard. Even if your posts are shared by the people that the user follows, they will be hidden from them.
  5. Any post of the blocked user will be hidden from your timeline even if it is shared by people you follow.
  6. They won’t be able to like or reblog or comment on your posts.
  7. After blocking someone, you won’t show up in their search results on Tumblr.

Will the blocked user be able to tell that they’ve been blocked?

Tumblr won’t tell the user that you have blocked them, so they will not automatically know that they have been blocked. However, they might be able to figure out on their own:

  • If the blocked user tries to visit your website or profile and fails to comment or share or like your posts.
  • If the user notices that your posts are no longer visible in their timeline.
  • If they try to send you a message and fail to do so.

Read also: 5 Foolproof Ways To Protect Your Social Media From Hackers

How to block someone on Tumblr?

In this section we will explain to you various methods on how to block someone on Tumblr, you can block people from your message, or by adding their names on the blocklist or even someone you follow.

How to block someone you follow?

  1. Log in to your Tumblr account.
  2. Go to the dashboard of your profile and then tap on the avatar of the person you want to block. You may even have to scroll down your dashboard to find one of the posts of the person you would like to block.
  3. Click on the Profile icon at the top of the user’s blog. Now, a small menu will expand.
  4. You will be able to see a “block” option, click on it. Then a confirmation message will appear.
  5. Click on Block to confirm it. After you click to block the user will be added to your block list and to view the block list you will have to access it from your Tumblr dashboard on the web.

Read also: Want To Block A YouTube Channel? Here Are Different Ways To Do It.

How to block someone from a message?

block someone on Tumblr

If you want to block the person who sent you a Tumblr message you can do so just by opening that message. This method can be implemented on both computer and mobile apps.

  1. Open your mailbox on Tumblr, by clicking on the envelope icon on the top right corner of your Dashboard. In the mobile app, you can just tap on the chat bubble icon at the top of the app.
  2. Tap the message of the Tumblr user you want to block.
  3. Tab on the kebab menu (three vertical dots) or the meatball menu (three horizontal dots) on the right side of the message.
  4. After you tap, a menu will appear. Click on the block option in the menu.
  5. Once you have clicked on it, a confirmation message will pop up.
  6. Click on the block button to confirm.

How to add someone to your block list by name?

You will be able to block some by adding their name to the block list only on a computer or via Tumblr web. 

  1. You will have to find the exact Tumblr name of the person you wish to block.
  2. After finding their Tumblr name, click on the profile icon at the top right corner of your Tumblr dashboard.
  3. Now, a menu will expand. Then click on the “Settings”, this will take you to the settings page.
  4. On the settings page click on the name of your blog on the right side of the screen. If you have more than one account select the one from which you want to block the user.
  5. Scroll down to the “blocked Tumblrs” section located at the bottom of the page. All the Tumblr users that you have blocked will appear here. You can hover the mouse pointer over each profile to view the name of the blocked user.
  6. Click on the edit icon or the pencil icon to add or remove users from the block list.
  7. Type the Tumblr username to clock then click block on the confirmation message to block them.

Read also: Can You Chat With Yourself On WhatsApp? Know More About It!

How to unblock someone on Tumblr?

In the above sections, we showed you the steps to block someone on Tumblr. In case you change your mind later and you might want to unblock them then this section will help you do so.

  1. Select the person icon in the top right corner of your Tumblr dashboard.
  2. Now, From the dropdown menu, click on Settings.
  3. Click on the name of your block from the right side of the page.
  4. Scroll down and select the pencil icon next to blocked numbers at the bottom of the page.
  5. Click the “unblock” next to the user’s profile icon you wish to unblock.

Read More

Hey, we like you a lot and 

want to offer you some of the best content

Share your email for some exclusive insights