Everything You Need To Know About Delivery Optimization Files In Windows

The Windows Delivery Optimization Files is the unique feature that Windows offers to its users to share updates with your neighboring computers or the PCs that are connected to your network. As the name suggests it helps in optimized usage of updates by sharing it with the computers hence quicker installation of updates is possible.

In this article, we will discuss everything about the delivery optimization files and their properties, deletion, and uses.

What are delivery optimization files?

Windows delivery optimization files provide an alternative way to get your Windows updates and Microsoft applications from other sources such as:

  • PCs connected on your local network.
  • PCs on the internet that are downloading the same files.
  • Share the updates from your PC to the PCs connected either to your local network or to those on the internet.

The delivery optimization files are stored as cache memory usually in the C drive of your Windows desktop. The downloaded files are stored for a short period as a cache.

Read about: Is Your Laptop Screen Flickering? Quick Fixes Available

Now that we know what the Windows delivery optimization files are let us check the perks of using them for updating or getting your applications:

  • As the files or applications and the updates are made on one PC, it helps in the reduction of the bandwidth of the internet. Hence effective updating of more than one PC at comparatively lower bandwidth is possible.
  • Better and successful downloads under limited or low internet data connection are possible.
  • Hence, more PCs can be kept up to date with limited resources. 

How do delivery optimization file help in sharing the updates?

When you download applications or updates using the Delivery optimization it will search and look for the PCs that have already updated or downloaded the application. The search takes place among the PCs in your local network or the internet as per your settings.

Once the required data is identified by your PC from the other PCs the updating process begins. For this your PC wouldn’t take the entire application or update from the other PC, instead, it will breakdown the download into parts such that a few bits are procured from the PCs and a few from Microsoft.

The parts and their sources are selected by Windows to choose the fastest and reliable source for the downloading process.

Deleting delivery optimization files

As per the Windows official website, there shouldn’t be any issues related to this type of sharing as:

  • Personal files cannot be shared or downloaded using delivery optimization.
  • The security measures taken during the process of downloading from Microsoft are taken in this also.
  • The authenticity of each part of the update is checked with the standards of the application in Microsoft.
  • The checking is also conducted before installation. Hence the files or application would be safe.
delivery optimization files

Now that you have understood the network of tasks that the delivery optimization files follow to get you your updates, if have doubts about it being harmful or concerns about the safety of your PC then you can delete these files.

Also, read about: What is System32 Directory And Why You Shouldn’t Delete It?

However, the Delivery optimization files get cleared automatically after a short period from the cache. Even in case of lack of storage space, these files get deleted. If you are thinking can you delete delivery optimization files on your own, then the answer is yes!

To delete the Delivery optimization files from your PC, follow these steps:

  • Open the ‘Start’ menu or use the search option in your taskbar to find the ‘Disk Cleanup’ option.
  • Choose the Disk Cleanup application from the list that appears.
  • From the Disk Cleanup dialog box, click and check the ‘Delivery optimization files’ option.
  • Click on the ‘Ok’ option.
  • Select the ‘Delete files’ option which will completely remove these files from your PC.

Even though you have checked the option to delete these files it might be replaced by the default option, especially after updates so keep checking it periodically. Along with the routine cleaning of the recycle bin and unwanted files, you can delete these files to increase the storage space of your PC.

Instead of just deleting the files you can even control the delivery optimization files and stop the updating and downloads. To know more about how to control these files read through the rest of the article!

Control the delivery optimization files

To stop getting updates or applications and stop sending the applications or updates to other PCs follow these steps:

Prevent delivery optimization files from the internet

  • Select the Start menu and then:

Go to the Settings > Select the Update & Security option > Choose Windows Update > Go to the Advanced options. 

  • Now choose the Delivery Optimization (or Choose how updates are delivered in other earlier versions of Windows 10).
  • Select PCs on my local network as this will allow this type of sharing only among the PCs connected to your local network.

Prevent downloading or updating of other PCs 

  • Select the Start menu and then:

Go to the Settings > Select the Update & Security option > Choose Windows Update > Go to the Advanced options

  • Now choose the Delivery Optimization (or Choose how updates are delivered in earlier versions of Windows 10).
  • Check whether the ‘Allow downloads from other PCs’ option is kept in the off mode. Hence, by this method, you prevent any kind of updates from other PCs except the ones directly from Microsoft or Windows.

Also, check out: 10 C’s You Need To Follow To Increase The Longevity Of Your Laptop

In case you want to use the delivery optimization files feature but do want the files to update automatically then set it on metered conditions. Once you set on a metered internet connection instead of Wi-Fi or ethernet connection this can be stopped.

For this follow these steps:

  • Open the ‘Settings’ from the Start menu and go to the ‘Network and Internet’ menu.
  • Choose the ‘Wi-Fi’ option and select your network.
  • Set the mode by choosing ‘Set as metered connection’.

In this article everything about the delivery optimization files and the steps to control or delete them have been covered. Hope this was useful for creating better updates and downloading of applications.

Read More

Hey, we like you a lot and 

want to offer you some of the best content

Share your email for some exclusive insights