3 Easy Ways To Disable Conversation View In Gmail

It is no doubt that right now Gmail is the most popular and yet best email service out there. We use Gmail services almost every day, and it offers some fantastic features as well. Google itself backs its email service, and it provides a storage space of 15GB. If you are a regular user of Gmail, you might be aware of the fact that it groups every email of the same topic by default. This means that if you send multiple emails to the same contact, it will be listed in a conversation view in Gmail instead of showing it in separate emails. 

It is one of the useful features that make your Gmail inbox neat and tidy. However, many times when we want to see each reply individually. So, if you want to disable conversation view in Gmail, then this article might be of your help.

How the Conversation View in Gmail function works?

Google’s exclusive email service, Gmail is one of the most popular and widely used email services in the world. It’s a lifeline for many people and especially on the professional front. What started as a simple email service in the year 2004, has now turned into a hub of features that cater to our requirements.

You might have noticed how Gmail shows you a thread of the emails, in your replies to make it easier and convenient for you to remember and organize in a single conversation. This feature is known as “Conversation view”.  One would assume that users use Gmail mostly on Desktop. But on contrary to that, today, 75% of Gmail users use it through their smartphones.

When you have Conversation View enabled, Gmail will group and display together:

  • Messages that have the same subject line, disregarding the prefixes such as “Re” and “Fwd.”
  • Up to about 100 emails at a time.

When the subject line of the mail changes or a conversation reaches 100 emails, Google’s Gmail starts a new conversation. So, let’s understand how you can disable the conversation view on your android smartphones 

How To Disable Conversation View In Gmail?

If you want to turn off Conversation view in Gmail, follow the steps mentioned below.

Disable Conversation View in Gmail on Android

  • If you wish to disable the conversation view on Android, open the Gmail app on your phone and tap the hamburger menu icon or the three horizontal line icons within the top-left corner.
  • Now, you can see several options on the menu. 
  • Tap to the second-last option which is “Settings”.
  • Now you can see all of your Google accounts in the settings menu. 
  • Now you can choose to either go to the “General Settings” to implement an option for all the linked accounts. Or you can go to a particular Gmail account. 
  • If you have opted for the “General Settings” menu, a “Conversation view” option will be available. You have to Unmark it to disable the feature from all your accounts. 
  • Or, you can choose a specific Gmail account and tap on it. Now look for the “Conversation view” option under the ‘general’ section.
  • Tap on the checkbox to disable the feature.
  • Gmail will implement the modification immediately. So return to your mail inbox. Now you will get all your emails separately. 

Now, let’s focus on how you can disable the Conversation view on Windows PC or MAC.

Source: Mail-Signatures

Disable Conversation View in Gmail on Windows PC or Mac

If you want to disable “conversation view” or grouped email threads in Gmail on your Windows 10 PC or Mac computer, then you have to do so from the Gmail website. You must start by opening the Gmail website in your browser and signing in.

  • Once you have signed in, click on the settings gear icon available in the top-right corner.
  • This will then open the “Quick Settings” menu panel. Now, simply scroll through the menu options and uncheck the “Conversation View” checkbox at the bottom.
  • At this point, Gmail will need to reload, so press on the “Reload” button in the pop-up box to allow this

Once it has been refreshed, your Gmail inbox will be changed and separating each email reply from any linked email chains. Or, you can choose to disable conversation view from the main Gmail settings menu.

  • To do so, click the settings gear icon and then choose the “See All Settings” option.
  • Then you need to scroll down to the “Conversation View” section and then click the “Conversation View Off” option in the “General” tab of the Gmail “Settings” menu
  • Once that has been selected, you need to scroll down to the bottom and click “Save Changes” to confirm the change.
  • Gmail will then automatically reload your inbox, thus showing each email separated from any previously linked threads.

Disable Conversation View in Gmail on iPhone and iPad

The steps to disable conversation view in the Gmail app on iOS devices like iPhones and iPads is similar to the steps for Android users, but the menus will differ slightly. For instance, if you use an iPhone or an iPad, you will only see email accounts listed, and won’t be able to disable the conversation view in Gmail for all accounts at once.

To start with this, open the Gmail app on your iOS device and tap the hamburger menu icon available in the top-left corner.

  • Tap the “Settings” option from the menu panel.
  • You will need to tap one of the accounts listed in the “Settings” menu to turn off conversation view in Gmail.
  • Tap the slider next to the “Conversation View” option in the settings menu for your chosen email account. This will now disable email threading immediately.
  • Once the setting has been changed, you need to tap back to view your inbox. If you want to apply this change to all of your accounts, you’ll need to redo these steps for each additional account afterwards.

That is how you can turn off the conversation view in Gmail to see your emails separately. You can also enable the conversation view by following the same steps in case you feel overwhelmed by the change!

Read More

Hey, we like you a lot and 

want to offer you some of the best content

Share your email for some exclusive insights