While Facebook might not want you to leave the social networking site, but you can still choose to delete your account permanently and immediately in 2021. There is quite a major difference between deactivating and deleting Facebook. If you want to delete facebook then keep reading the article. What is the difference between Deactivation and Deletion? Before diving into the method to delete Facebook account let us know the difference between deactivating and deleting the Facebook account. There exist two ways for you for removing your presence from Facebook. You can either choose to deactivate your account or delete it completely. The former choice allows you to come back and reactivate your account, while the latter one is on the permanent side, which means there’s no going back. Deactivating your account is a better option for you when you want to go into hiding for a time being with the ability to come back online without needing to set up a whole new account. While you have deactivated the account, no will be able to see your profile, but your name might still show up on your friend’s lists. In addition to all of that, you can still use Facebook Messenger while your account has been deactivated, which allows you to stay connected with friends. However, deleting your account is a permanent option. When you go for this option, you would not be able to reactivate your account. All of your posts, photos, videos, and everything that you posted on your account is erased forever. With the addition of not able to use Facebook Messenger app, you won’t be able to use the Facebook Login feature that you may have used on third-party apps or websites to login. Some information like messages you sent friends and copies of messages in their inboxes, will still be visible to them after you delete Facebook. How to Deactivate your Facebook account? Deactivating the Facebook account puts it on hold. Your profile will be removed from the social networking site, as will most of the things that you posted to Facebook, though messages and other stuff will still stick around. Deactivation of the account can be undone. Facebook will retain your information in case you want to come back. There is always an option for you to reactivate your account later by logging in to Facebook. If you are unsure about leaving Facebook permanently, this is a great way to go with the Facebook-free life before you make a final judgement. If you want to deactivate your account, sign in into Facebook. Click the down-arrow icon at far right that is at the top of your Facebook page. Select Settings from the menu that appears on the screen, and then on the next screen click the General from the list along the left side of the window. Here, in the Manage Account section, you will find the deactivating account option. Once you are there, navigate to the Manage Account section at the bottom to find the option to deactivate your Facebook account. Now, click on the Deactivate your account to start the process. Here, Facebook will try to talk you out of deactivating your account by reminding you of all your friends who will miss you if you leave the platform. The site will also try to guilt you into staying by showing you past photos of your Facebook friends, and then asking you why you want to leave the platform. Lastly, Facebook asks you the reason for deactivating the account. The actual Deactivate button is located at the bottom. Once you have told Facebook the reason why you don’t want to be on the site anymore, click on the Deactivate button. Then you must enter your password for one last time, and Facebook will proceed further to deactivate your account. You should remember that you can always go back by logging into Facebook. And if you also have an Instagram account that is hooked up to your Facebook one, you can keep it, but you will need to unlink them by navigating to “Sharing Settings” in the Instagram app. How to Permanently Delete Your Facebook Account? Before you move ahead and delete Facebook from existence, you might want to backup your data from the company’s servers. The site has a tool that helps you to download all your data in one manageable ZIP file. If you want, you can easily download your information from the “Your Facebook Information” page in Settings. Open your account on android phone or computer Click the downward arrow available in the upper right corner on the Facebook Home Screen. Select Settings in the menu that appears. Also, you need to note that You might need to select Settings & Privacy first to find Settings. Whenever the General Account Settings screen appears, click on the ‘Your Facebook Information’ option on the left navigation bar. Select View next to Deactivation and Deletion in the information that appears on the screen, On the next window, choose Delete Account and then click on Continue to Account Deletion. However, you should note that this area previously showed as Permanently Delete Account as shown in the image and delete Account is the current wording. A new screen that appears gives you the choice to Deactivate Account or to Download Info. If you haven’t downloaded the personal data like chats, pictures, posts, etc which you need to keep, select Download Info and you need to wait for the download to complete. Otherwise, click on Delete Account. You should be sure whether you want to delete your Facebook account before you do it. You cannot recover a deleted account after 30 days. Enter your password when asked and then select Continue. Then you will be prompted again to confirm you want to delete the account. Click on Delete Account. Now your Facebook account will be temporarily deleted, and you will be returned to the log-in screen. That’s it! We believe our guide to delete Facebook was useful for you!